Church Revitalization

America has become quite attached to tv personalities Chip and Joanna Gaines. The American people love the show Fixer Upper, where this fun loving couple takes old neglected houses and gives them new life. This  phenomenon has started a national trend. Young couples aren’t wanting to build new houses or move into new suburban neighborhoods, because they would rather bring new life to an old house with character. It is my hope and prayer that such an emphasis crosses over into the church world, and we once again see abandoned congregations filled with new life.

My Passion

Every pastor has a pet topic or an issue about which they are very passionate. I have shared previously that I have a passion for preaching, but I am also very interested in church revitalization. I can remember the day when my heart changed and was bent toward these congregations. I was speaking with my pawpaw about a local church that my friend was thinking about pastoring. I told Pawpaw that I didn’t think he should go there because that church had problems. He gently but sternly told me that it may not be the church for my friend, but that didn’t meant that a pastor shouldn’t go there. He said the Lord did not say, “I am not going to send a pastor there because they have wolves,” but rather, he reminded me that it is those churches that need a pastor the most.

My heart breaks for all the churches in this nation that have long left the glory days, and find  their greatest joy by looking back at the way things used to be. These churches have been in decline for decades, and have largely been neglected by capable pastors only fueling the slow cycle to their closure. I cannot help but wonder if we have left the one to enjoy the comfort of the ninety-nine. There are hundreds of churches who want to move forward, and they are just waiting on someone to lead them into the future.

The County Seat Church

Most guys my age that are entering ministry don’t really care about the county seat church. In fact, I have talked to some that don’t even know what that phrase means. There was a day when the county seat church was the place every young seminarian dreamed about, but those days are gone. For the most part the county seat churches are in great need of revitalization.

These churches once had great influence in their regions. The other churches in the area could look to FBC County Seat for advice and help when things weren’t going well. The county seat church always led in baptisms, cooperative program giving, and they called/produced some of the greatest pastors in the nation. What has caused this dramatic change? That is a discussion for another day, but what I can say is these churches need pastors.

My Vision

It is my desire to pastor a county seat type church one day, that is a church that was once influential and successful but now has fallen into decline. I want to pastor these churches for an entirely different reason than men of days past. I want to go here because the Lord’s words burn in my heat,  “it is the sick that need the doctor not the healthy.” The Lord has burdened my soul for these neglected churches, and I am confident that God is not done using them. He can restore them, making them the great pillars of the American church once again, and I want to be a part of that movement!

 

-Brayden L. Buss

Leave a Reply

